Minnehaha Creek Watershed

The Minnehaha Creek Watershed District (MCWD) is the local unit of government responsible for managing and protecting the water resources of the Minnehaha Creek Watershed in parts of Minneapolis, Minnesota, and its western suburbs.

The MCWD is responsible for 181 square miles that drain into the Minnehaha Creek and ultimately the Mississippi River. The watershed includes Minnehaha Creek, Lake Minnetonka, the Minneapolis Chain of Lakes, and Minnehaha Falls. There are eight major creeks, 129 lakes, and thousands of wetlands within the MCWD. The MCWD also includes all or part of 27 cities and two townships in Hennepin and Carver counties.

The MCWD uses scientific research and monitoring, public education, grant programs, permitting, and collaborative initiatives with local governments, agencies, and residents, to protect the region’s lakes, rivers, and streams. Protecting and managing these resources is important for recreation, fish and wildlife, the environment, and property values.

Established in 1967, the MCWD was created under the Minnesota Watershed District Act. The 1955 act charged watershed districts with integrating water management efforts among city, county, and state agencies. Districts receive funding through local property taxes.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Categories: Goverment Agency/Non ProfitGrant InformationOther


15320 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, Mn 55345 USA


(952) 471-0590 (Main)